2016 ACIPC Conference

Conference Award Winners

Best Poster Award (Delegates Choice):

Display Poster 18 – Practice change in elective hip/knee in elective arthroplasty at Orange Health Service – Suzanne Lovell-Smart

Best Poster Award (As judged by the ACIPC Conference Scientific Committee:

ePoster 21 – The role of team engagement and a defined bundle approach in the reduction of surgical site infections associated with Lower Segment Caesarean Section – Beth Bint

Best Large Stand Award: 

Amcla Pty Ltd

Best Small Stand Award:

Gojo Australasia Pty Ltd

Welcome from ACIPC President


On behalf of the College Executive Council, it gives me great pleasure to invite you to join us for ACIPC 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. Building on the success of arguably our most successful conference last year in Hobart, ACIPC 2016 promises a wealth of interest as we tackle the challenges and embrace the opportunities for the future of our profession. Held at the Pullman Hotel, Albert Park, ACIPC 2016 will broker new dimensions and frontiers in education, research and practice in infection prevention and control as we together to prevent and control infection in our communities. And where better to do so than in Melbourne, one of Australia’s most vibrant capital cities. With great restaurants, sporting facilities, arts, culture and entertainment precincts peppered with the laneway lifestyle, Melbourne is the gateway to Victoria’s spectacular beaches, coastline, regional wineries and peninsulas. There is plenty to see and do set across the city and wider Victoria.

We look forward to meeting with you at ACIPC 2016.


Professor Ramon Shaban

Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control

Who Should Attend

  • Infection Prevention and Control Professionals
  • Infectious Diseases Physicians
  • Nurses (Acute, Long Term Care and Community)
  • Microbiologists
  • Researchers
  • Scientists
  • Hospital Managers
  • Government Representatives
  • University Representatives
  • Pharmacists
  • Professionals in associated disciplines


Pullman & Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
65 Queens Road
Melbourne Victoria 3004

View a Google Map of the venue.

Conference Managers

For all enquiries please contact the team at Conference Design:

+61 3 6231 2999

Invited Speakers

We are pleased to announce the following invited speakers have been confirmed for the conference. Click here for biographies of the speakers and their topics.

  • Professor Mary Dixon-Woods
    University of Leicester
  • Dr Jennie Wilson
    University of West London
  • Professor Didier Pittet
    University of Geneva Hospitals and Faculty of Medicine
  • Professor Dale Fisher
    National University Hospital, Singapore

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Bronze Sponsor

ACIPC Committee Members

Conference Organising Committee


  • Marija Juraja
    Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Adelaide
  • Fiona Wilson
    Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania

Committee Members

  • Lisa Ryan
    Calvary Health Care, South Australia
  • Lincoln Fowler
    Bairnsdale Regional Health Service
  • Nicola Isles
    Healthscope, Hobart
  • Berndatte Brogan
    Western Health, Victoria
  • Sandra Roodt
    Calvary, ACT
  • Fiona Kimber
    ACT Health

Scientific Organising Committee


  • A/Professor Brett Mitchell
    Avondale College, NSW

Committee Members

  • Professor Allen Cheng
    Monash University, Melbourne
  • A/Professor Leon Worth
    Doherty Institute, Melbourne
  • Philip Russo
    ACIPC Executive Council, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Lisa Hall
    Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane
  • Dr Jan Gralton
    Healthcare Associated Infections (HAI), NSW

Print Friendly, PDF & Email